Bringing the power of mind-body healing to our nation's warriors

Part 1 – Fundamentals of Teaching Yoga and Meditation in Military Communities

Fundamentals of Teaching Yoga and Meditation in Military Communities

Tuition: $425, $395 for early bird registration
Yoga Alliance CEUs: 14 non-contact hours
from your home (webinar)
1. 7 weekly webinars (90 min. each, total 10.5 hours) or
2. 3-day intensive webinar (total 10.5 hours)
(Both formats are recorded and available for later listening)

(To register – click on the dates below or look at the right column of this page.)
Oct 13 – Nov 24, 2015 (Tuesday weekly format, 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm ET)

Jan 26- Mar 1, 2016 (Tuesday weekly format, 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm ET)
Apr 22 – 24, 2016 (weekend intensive format)
Aug 12-14, 2016 (weekend intensive format)
Sep 28 – Nov 9, 2016 (Wednesday weekly format, 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm ET)
Nov 11 – 13, 2016 (weekend residential format at Yogaville, VA

Intensive Times:
Fri – 6:00 pm – 9:30 pm EDT/3:00 pm – 6:30 pm PDT
Sat – 12:00 pm – 5:30 pm EDT/9:00 am – 2:30 pm PDT
Sun – 12:00 pm – 4:30 pm EDT/9:00 am – 1:30 pm PDT

Meditation teaching training or
Minimum 200 hour yoga teacher training or
Experienced  health professionals on a case by case basis

Who and Why:
This course is designed for three types of yoga and meditation teachers:
1. Those with no experience with the military and wish to determine if working in a military community is appropriate for them.
2. Those with no experience with the military but have a very strong desire to be of service in this venue.
3. Those who are currently working in a military community and want to learn how to teach yoga and meditation in a military setting.

Learning Objectives:

  • The key distinctions between “yogic culture” and “military culture” and why they matter.
  • Key facts about military culture, history, structure, values, norms and attitudes.
  • Cultural sensitivity skills critical to a teacher’s success and effectiveness.
  • Ways to introduce yoga/meditation that enhance your students’ receptivity and focus on the relevance to their concerns.
  • How to create a safe learning container and why this is crucial for working with those suffering from trauma.
  • A basic understanding of war-related traumatic stress, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and Traumatic Brain Injury.
  • Practical guidelines for working with student’s emotional reactions in class.
  • Strategies and tips for initiating a class or workshop series in military facilities and communities.

Earning your Part 1 Certificate of Completion requires:

  • Attending (or listening to recording) all 7 webinar lecture classes
  • Participating in two hour-long discussion groups* (not recorded)
  • Submitting final homework assignment

To register – look at the right hand column on this page.

Sitemap Link

Contact Information

Warriors At Ease
8400 Cedar St.
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 512-516-5031
(pacific time)
Gail Francisco

Send Us Email